What are the 5 standards of care

Standards of care

According to the definition of the World Health Organization from 1988, a standard of care is "an achievable level of performance based on a criterion, by which actual care performance is measured". The nursing standard is thus a guideline that describes a certain procedure for a nursing activity and defines the associated nursing goal. Depending on the clinical picture or the nursing diagnosis, it contains crucial information about which problems can arise and which needs must be met. Care standards serve to ensure the quality of professional care.

Types of standards of care

According to Adelheid von Stösser (1994), nursing standards can be assigned to three main topics. Structural nursing standards describe the conditions under which professional nurses provide their services to the person concerned. They provide insight into the organization of care, which materials are used or how many staff are used to care for the person in need of care. Process standards refer to the specific maintenance measures and cover the entire maintenance process. They provide useful information on how to carry out the nursing activity, how to plan the nursing care and how to achieve the desired nursing goal. The collection of all data and information as well as care advice or the quality of the care process are part of these care standards. Result standards deal with the result of the maintenance measures. They make it easier for professional nurses to evaluate their actions.

Goal of standards of care

Care standards contain certain criteria that can be checked in practice. They are an instrument for measuring the success of nursing. They ensure consistent, high-quality care for those affected by competent nursing staff. According to a guideline of the World Association of Nurses, they should "convey innovative and intelligent content", which makes them an important instrument in matters of quality assurance, among other things.

More terms with P