Which is India's first bullet train project

High speed train project in Mumbai Ahmedabad

Mumbai Ahmedabad Bullet Train Project: The Mumbai Ahmedabad Bullet Train Project is India's first high-speed train project consisting of 508.17 stations with a length of 12 km.

  • Project name: Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed train project
  • Owner: Indian Railways, Govt. Gujarat and Govt. Maharashtra
  • Operator: National High Speed ​​Railway Company Limited
  • Project type: Very high speed train (bullet train)
  • Project costs: INR 1.10 lakh crore
  • Financing pattern: Credit from India and Japan
  • Completion target: 2022 (August 15)
  • Train type: Japanese E5 series Shinkansen train
  • Number of trains: 35 (from 2022), 105 (from 2053)
  • Vehicle capacity: 10 (750-seat), 16 (1200-seat)
  • Overall length: 508.17 km (Gujarat - 348.04 km, Maharashtra - 155.76 km and Dadar and Nagar Haveli - 4.3 km),
  • Total stations: 12 (Gujarat - 8, Maharashtra - 4)
  • Operating speed: 300-350 km per hour
  • Travel time: 2 o'clock with limited stops and 2.58 o'clock with stops at all stops.

Mumbai Ahmedabad Bullet Train Project Stations

  1. Bombay,
  2. Thane,
  3. Virar,
  4. Bois,
  5. Vapi,
  6. Bilimora,
  7. Surat,
  8. Bharuch,
  9. Vadodara,
  10. Anand / Nadia,
  11. Ahmedabad
  12. Sabarmati

Shinkansen (Bullet) very high speed train

-Technology: The E5 series Shinkansen use a number of advanced technologies compared to traditional rails, providing not only high speed but also a high level of safety and comfort.

-Trains: The E5 series Shinkansen trains will be electric multiple units that offer quick acceleration, deceleration and less damage to the rail by using lighter vehicles compared to locomotives or electric cars. From August 15, 2022, a total of 750 trains with a capacity of 10 vehicles will initially be operated. It will then be expanded into a train with a capacity of 35 vehicles and a capacity of 1200 passengers.

Railway line: Shinkansen uses the standard 1,435 mm inch gauge. Continuous welding bar and movable nose transition points are used, which avoids gaps in participation and passage. Long rails combined with expansion joints are used to minimize measurement fluctuations due to thermal expansion and contraction. A combination of ballast and slab track is used, just traces of slabs used in concrete bed sections such as viaducts and tunnels.

Signaling system: Shinkansen uses an ATC (Automatic Train Control) system that no longer requires road signals. It uses a comprehensive ATP (Automatic Train Protection) system. The signaling system in the high-speed corridor will be level 2 according to the feasibility report of the ERTMS (European Railway Traffic Management System) project. ERTMS was developed to standardize train control systems and enable interoperability with the Indian railways and other networks

Electrification system: Shinkansen uses a 1,500 kV AC overhead line to overcome the limitations of the 25 V DC power used in the current narrow gauge electrical system. The force is distributed along the pull axles to reduce heavy axle loads on single-engine vehicles. The AC frequency of the power supply for the Shinkansen is 60 Hz.

Low axle load: The Shinkansen train has a lower axle load than other high-speed trains in industrialized countries. This helps keep civil building construction compact and also reduces construction and maintenance costs.

Security: Shinkansen is equipped with the Emergency Earthquake Detection and Alarm System (UrEDAS), which enables the automatic braking of high-speed trains in the event of large earthquakes.

India bullet train route map


  • Click to share on Facebook (opens in a new window)
  • Click to share on Twitter (opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Pinterest (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share via Linkedln (opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Tumblr (opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Pocket (Opens in New Window)
  • Click to share the telegram (opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Skype (opens in a new window)
  • Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share by email to your friend (will open in a new window)
  • Click to print (opens in new window)